abbreviations: time zones

Time zones are abbreviated when used with a specific time. Note that capitals are used, without periods.

  • 4:30 p.m. EST
  • 7:15 a.m. MST

When no specific time is given, time zones are written out in full:

  • Pacific Standard Time
  • Mountain Standard Time

The six time zones in Canada and their abbreviations are listed below:

  • Newfoundland Standard Time – NST
  • Atlantic Standard Time – AST
  • Eastern Standard Time – EST
  • Central Standard Time – CST
  • Mountain Standard Time – MST
  • Pacific Standard Time – PST

From March to November, when clocks are put ahead one hour, the time zones are on daylight saving time (DST):

  • Newfoundland Daylight Time – NDT
  • Atlantic Daylight Time – ADT
  • Eastern Daylight Time – EDT
  • Central Daylight Time – CDT
  • Mountain Daylight Time – MDT
  • Pacific Daylight Time – PDT

Copyright notice for Writing Tips Plus

© His Majesty the King in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Public Services and Procurement
A tool created and made available online by the Translation Bureau, Public Services and Procurement Canada

Search by related themes

Want to learn more about a theme discussed on this page? Click on a link below to see all the pages on the Language Portal of Canada that relate to the theme you selected. The search results will be displayed in Language Navigator.