Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Help

About the Portal

To learn more about who we are, what we do, and what our goals are, click on About the Portal. You can also familiarize yourself with our editorial guidelines, and much more.

Note that the Language Portal of Canada has a parallel French language site—the Portail linguistique du Canada. While these Internet sites follow the Official Languages Act wherever possible, their content is not identical. Both sites, however, have the same objective of promoting the use of Canada's official languages, English and French.

Site Map

Information on the layout of this Web site can be found in our Site Map.

FAQs

Consult the FAQs page to find answers to questions that are frequently asked about the Language Portal of the Government of Canada.

What's new

What's New? provides you with information on the latest changes or additions to the site. You can also subscribe to our E-mail Notification Service or to our RSS Feed to be notified automatically when new content is added to the Portal.

Contact Us

Our Contact Us page can help you find the most convenient way to get in touch with us.

Search

To navigate this site, you can use the Search function or consult our Site Map, where you can find a list of the pages making up this Web site.

Accessibility Message

While every reasonable effort has been made to ensure the accessibility of this Internet site, some content or services found here may not be accessible to some visitors. If you have any problems with access, contact us by email at: noslangues.ourlanguages@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Terms and conditions

If you have any questions about copyright, privacy, official languages, etc., go to Terms and conditions.

Privacy

Any personal information collected electronically is protected under the Privacy Act.

The Internet is a public forum and electronic information can be intercepted. This is not a secure Web site. Please do not disclose unnecessary confidential information about yourself.

Alternative Formats and Plug-ins

Information throughout this Web site is provided in HTML as the primary format. In some cases, other software formats are provided as alternatives. To open these alternate formats, you may need to download and install one or more of the following on your computer:

Portable Document Format (PDF)

Some of the pages available on this Web site are electronic versions of documents that were originally designed for printing. These documents may also be available for download in PDF format so that you can view and print them with virtually the same graphics, typography and layout as the original version.

Before you can open any of the PDF documents, you will first need to install one of the free PDF reader software programs from the list below.

If you choose not to use a reader, you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using an online conversion service such as one offered by Adobe online conversion feature.

Media Players (for viewing interactive content)

These Web sites are outside of the control of Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) and are listed solely for the convenience of our users. PWGSC does not endorse any of the software found on these sites and is unable to provide technical assistance to users who install this software on their computers.

Share a page

You can recommend a page of the Portal by e-mail, social bookmarking Go to note 1 or social networking Go to note 2 by clicking on the "Share this page" button, which is located in the top right corner of most pages.

Access to the proposed sites is free, but you must have a user account. Access to these sites may vary depending on your browser (for example, Internet Explorer 6 does not support all the sites). You must make sure that your browser is up to date. In addition, depending on which sharing method you have chosen, some characters (accented letters, apostrophes or other symbols) in the title of the page you are recommending may be displayed incorrectly or missing. You will need to make these corrections yourself before recommending the page to your contacts.

Note: No e-mail or personal information will be retained. For more information on privacy policies and practices that apply to the Language Portal of Canada, see the Terms and conditions.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at noslangues.ourlanguages@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca if you have any comments or suggestions about this feature.

Return to note 1Social bookmarking allows you to save your favourite links on the Internet through social bookmarking sites such as Google Bookmarks or Reddit. These sites offer many advantages. You can:

  • access your favourite links from any computer or mobile device connected to the Internet;
  • search your favourite links easily using the keywords (commonly called "tags") you assign to each link;
  • share your favourite links with an Internet community;
  • discover the favourite links of other Web users who share your interests.

Social bookmarking sites are usually free, but you must subscribe to use them. Social bookmarking is also known as collaborative tagging, social classification and social indexing.

Return to note 2 Social networking sites, such as Facebook and Linkedln, are Internet platforms that allow you to interact online and create interconnected Web communities. You can create personal profiles, establish lists of users with whom you have a common connection or establish new relationships. To exchange ideas with other members, you can post messages to your personal page, send e-mails and instant messages or share files.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Aide

À propos du Portail

Pour en savoir davantage sur nous, nos activités et nos objectifs, cliquez sur À propos du Portail. Nos principes directeurs y sont aussi énoncés.

Veuillez noter que le Portail linguistique du Canada a un pendant anglais—The Language Portal of Canada. Bien que les deux sites se conforment à la Loi sur les langues officielles à tous les égards possibles, leur contenu n'est pas identique. Ces sites visent toutefois le même but, soit de promouvoir l'usage des langues officielles du Canada, le français et l'anglais.

Plan du site

Le Plan du site montre comment est structuré le Portail linguistique du Canada.

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

Consultez la Foire aux questions pour obtenir des réponses à des questions souvent posées à propos du Portail linguistique.

Quoi de neuf?

La page Quoi de neuf? vous signale les plus récents ajouts et changements apportés au site. Afin d'être automatiquement informé dès que du nouveau contenu est ajouté au Portail, vous pouvez également vous abonner à notre Avis par courriel ou à notre Fil RSS.

Contactez-nous

Consultez la page Contactez-nous pour savoir comment communiquer avec nous.

Recherche

Pour trouver l'information qui vous intéresse, vous pouvez utiliser la fonction Recherche ou consulter notre Plan du site qui présente une liste des pages offertes sur le Portail.

Accessibilité

Nous avons fait le maximum pour assurer l'accessibilité de ce site. Toutefois, certains contenus ou services peuvent être inaccessibles à certains visiteurs. Pour obtenir de l'aide, communiquez avec nous par courriel à l'adresse suivante : noslangues.ourlanguages@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Avis

Si vous avez des questions sur les droits d'auteur, la protection des renseignements personnels, les langues officielles, etc., consultez les Avis.

Protection des renseignements personnels

Toute information personnelle recueillie électroniquement est protégée par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Internet est un forum public et de l'information électronique peut y être interceptée. L'accès au présent site n'est pas protégé. Par conséquent, ne divulguez aucune information confidentielle à votre sujet.

Autres formats et plugiciels

L'information figurant sur le présent site est principalement fournie en format HTML. Dans certains cas, des documents sont offerts dans d'autres formats. Pour ouvrir ces documents, vous devrez peut-être télécharger et installer sur votre ordinateur un ou plusieurs des logiciels suivants :

Format de document portable (PDF)

Certaines pages du site sont des versions électroniques de documents initialement destinés à l'impression. Ces documents peuvent aussi être téléchargés en format PDF afin de les visualiser et de les imprimer; les graphiques, la typographie et la mise en page sont quasi identiques aux versions imprimées.

Pour ouvrir un document PDF, vous devez d'abord installer l'un des logiciels de lecture de fichiers PDF gratuits suivants :

Si vous ne voulez pas utiliser de lecteur, vous pouvez convertir le fichier PDF en texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant un service de conversion en ligne, comme l'outil de conversion en ligne Adobe.

Diffuseurs de médias (pour visualiser du contenu interactif)

Les sites de téléchargement proposés ne sont pas contrôlés par TPSGC et sont fournis seulement parce qu'ils peuvent être utiles aux utilisateurs. TPSGC n'approuve pas les logiciels figurant sur ces sites Web et n'est pas en mesure d'offrir une assistance technique aux utilisateurs qui installent ces logiciels sur leur ordinateur.

Partager une page

Il est possible de recommander une page du Portail par courriel, partage de signetsAller à la note 1 ou réseautage social Aller à la note 2, grâce au bouton « Partager cette page » que l'on retrouve dans le coin supérieur droit de la plupart des pages du site.

L'accès aux sites proposés est gratuit, mais vous devez y être inscrit (c'est-à-dire avoir un compte d'utilisateur). L'accès à ces sites peut varier selon votre type de navigateur (par exemple Internet Explorer 6 ne supporte pas tous ces sites). Assurez-vous que votre navigateur est à jour. De plus, selon l'option de partage choisie, certains caractères (comme les accents, les apostrophes ou autres symboles) du titre de la page que vous êtes sur le point de recommander risquent d'être modifiés ou de disparaître. Vous devrez sans doute les corriger manuellement avant de recommander cette page à vos contacts.

Nota : Aucun courriel ou renseignement personnel ne sera conservé. Pour en savoir davantage sur les politiques et les pratiques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels sur le Portail linguistique du Canada, consultez l' Avis.

N'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous à noslangues.ourlanguages@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca si vous avez des commentaires ou suggestions concernant cette fonctionnalité.

Retour à la note1 Le partage par signets permet de conserver vos hyperliens préférés sur Internet, grâce à des sites de partage de signets comme Favoris Google ou Reddit. Cette méthode comporte beaucoup d'avantages. Elle vous permet entre autres :

  • d'accéder à votre collection d'hyperliens à partir de n'importe quel ordinateur ou appareil mobile connecté à Internet;
  • d'effectuer facilement des recherches dans votre collection, grâce aux mots-clés (communément appelés « tags » en anglais) que vous pouvez ajouter à chaque hyperlien;
  • de partager votre collection avec une communauté d'internautes;
  • de découvrir les hyperliens préférés d'autres internautes qui ont les mêmes intérêts que vous.

Les sites de partage de signets sont généralement gratuits, mais il faut s'y inscrire pour les utiliser. Enfin, vous remarquerez qu'on utilise une variété d'expressions pour désigner le partage de signets, comme partage de favoris ou de marque-pages, étiquetage social ou, en anglais, social bookmarking.

Retour à la note2 Les sites de réseautage social, tels que Facebook et LinkedIn, sont des plateformes qui offrent aux internautes un moyen d'interagir en ligne et de créer des communautés Web. Chaque utilisateur peut créer un profil personnel, constituer une liste d'utilisateurs avec lesquels il a un lien et établir de nouvelles relations. Pour échanger avec d'autres membres, vous pouvez publier des messages sur votre page personnelle, envoyer des courriels et des messages instantanés ou partager des fichiers.

Pour parler de réseautage social, on emploie parfois les termes réseautage personnel ou, en anglais, social networking.